Go Back   ClanTemplates > Community > Help Booth > Answered Questions
Game Tracker

Answered Questions All answered questions are moved into this forum.

 
  Thread Tools Display Modes
#1  
Old February 2nd, 2007, 07:30 AM
DuDe DuDe is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 3
DuDe is an unknown quantity at this point

Been having a big problem with a hacker. This all started this morning. Nighteye Designs was hacked this morning and the guy used my site for a cover. He later just contacted me and the owner of nighteye designs after their site was restored. And then continued to hack the site again, he threated that he will continue to keep hacking the site untill the 200 bucks is paid. He also threated to take my site down not to mention anyother graphic site. Hes a threat to the graphic community at large and needs to be taken care of. He used the msn addy of dudezrocks@hotmail.com i reported it to msn and waiting for an answer. If there is anything that you guys think we should do please help. I know none of us would want to lose a site, my site i have spent alot of time on and it would be a shame to lose cause of a hacker. he dont seem to have any modivation to be doing this, when we asked him y he was doing this he responded in a few ways, first it was he was bored then next was that he was hired. Personally i think he has a grudge on sumthing, what i have no idea.

this is the current site he has hacked.

http://www.nighteye-designs.2webh.com/

Please help us out.
__________________

#2  
Old February 2nd, 2007, 07:30 AM
JackMaynard's Avatar
JackMaynard JackMaynard is offline
Wannabe Designer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 440
JackMaynard is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to JackMaynard

Ahahaaha, dont worry mate, i know a few who'll be interested in this addy. I'll get back to you.

Also, did you make a backup of your site, you could upload it to another host for a bit and wait until he's gone.

Also, i think its your brother! :lol: lol that was a guess btw.
#3  
Old February 2nd, 2007, 07:30 AM
DuDe DuDe is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 3
DuDe is an unknown quantity at this point

i have complete back ups, i'm just worried if it goes down, the down time will pretty much kill my site. I'm in the process of setting up a hosting company and this a*****e came at the worse time possible. The only info i got from him is that hes canadian and seems quite adult, says he had a masters in comp technology and does this in his spare time (which is kinda sad to be hacking small time practically non profit sites)....I have the convo saved as a text file. Contact me on msn if ya need it. dude@dudedezign.com

Thx for any help
__________________

#4  
Old February 2nd, 2007, 07:30 AM
Llamaman Llamaman is offline
Skilled Ninja
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 111
Llamaman is an unknown quantity at this point

phpnuke is extremely easy to hack using SQL injections, so that is probably how he has done it. Either that or he has got your password to your hosting.

You can actually hack non-updated versions of phpnuke by just typing one string into the address bar (that inject SQL commands into your database to create a new admin account for example). Later versions of phpnuke fix this.

My advice would be to upgrade your phpnuke installation to the latest version (7.4 from http://www.phpnuke.org) which will get rid of all of the many current security bugs in phpnuke, and constantly update it in the future. Along with this, you should change your passwords for your cpanel account. Remember, this guy isnt a real hacker, he's just an exploiter and he is not able to physically hack the server that your hosting is based on.
#5  
Old February 2nd, 2007, 07:30 AM
ihavebeenbanned ihavebeenbanned is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 1,848
ihavebeenbanned is an unknown quantity at this point

Something to learn from this: Never use PHPNuke...it is teh suxorz.
#6  
Old February 2nd, 2007, 07:30 AM
viclei viclei is offline
Advanced Whore
 
Join Date: May 2004
From: Australia
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 1,175
viclei is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to viclei Send a message via MSN to viclei

Old versions of PHP Nuke have a lot of exploits that are freely available at security websites. Most of these are SQL injection exploits that are exected from various pages. You should update PHP Nuke and your version of PHP (if you can) if you have an old version since it doesn't strip html or SQL tags.

Another possibility would be that he had a cookie stealer on your forums which would have been able to steal the cookies of admins etc. which contain their password and login. Again, an updated forum would usually fix the problem.

This guy isn't a 'real' hacker (as Llamaman said) but just someone who can read other people's articles on exploits and execute them
__________________


[+] My DA Portfolio
[+] My Portfolio - 80% Done
Tutorials : Random Affiliate Script, Affiliates Linking Tutorial
Presents given to : Nakor
Presents from : D.N.A.
#7  
Old February 2nd, 2007, 07:30 AM
DuDe DuDe is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 3
DuDe is an unknown quantity at this point

I dont have php nuke, that is nighteye designs. www.dudedezign.com is my site and he used my site for cover when he hacked nighteye the first time. He threated me a few times last night that he would hack it. I have backups of everything just incase. Any suggestions on how to keep my site from being hacked??
__________________

#8  
Old February 2nd, 2007, 07:30 AM
Toxic Basti Toxic Basti is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 13
Toxic Basti is an unknown quantity at this point

it like this nighteye designs is ma site he had got my admin account in some way, then he made him an hacked adminm account, mean evcerytime we try to delete him the passwords of the rest admins change
he hadnt delete something from mysql or ftp ( i looked and all was ok)
he only deleted kinda stuff of the site and we cannot restore it right now cos he deleted our admin accounts or changed our passes, dunno

anyways we have to get the ip of him, thenwe can get back my site
__________________
pls visit my site www.toxic-squad.2webh.com and pls register :D

#9  
Old February 2nd, 2007, 07:30 AM
TWF TWF is offline
Scandalous Wench
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
From: England
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 536
TWF is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to TWF

LOL u people are silly just take it down and reupload it all!
#10  
Old February 2nd, 2007, 07:30 AM
Biznard's Avatar
Biznard Biznard is offline
HillBilly On Crack
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
From: 127.0.0.1
iTrader: (0)
Posts: 812
Biznard is infamous around these parts
Send a message via AIM to Biznard Send a message via MSN to Biznard

DuDe said to me that the cracker said he did it by "sending multiple packets until the server overloaded". Which clearly sounds like a DOS attack to me. So I told Dude to talk to the webhost, who (the webhost) said to just "let the hacker pass by".

Just a little update. And if that is how he did it, taking it all down and reuploading it all won't do much.
__________________

http://www.yafoice.com - If it doesn't get all over the ploice, it doesn't belong in ya foice.
#11  
Old February 2nd, 2007, 07:30 AM
general
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

#1 that's not his real email
#2 don't pay him shit
#3 contact your host
#4 take all security mesures and change your passwords
#5 setup a trap
#6 don't worry about anything else until something happens
 

Warning
You are about to reply to a thread, where the last post is over 2 weeks old. Replying without a constructive post related to the topic, will result in infractions being given out

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:21 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.